Showing posts with label TV. Show all posts
Showing posts with label TV. Show all posts

Saturday, August 29, 2009

End of an Era: Sadly, Reading Rainbow is No More

It is with deep regret that I am writing this post to commemorate the cancellation of one of the most important and influential television shows of my generation: Reading Rainbow. Perhaps it should come as no surprise that, in today's society, there would eventually be no place for such an uplifting and educational program. But you know what, personally I'm not willing to accept that.

I'm not so presumtuous that I would say this show meant any more to me than any of the millions of people also mourning the loss, but it did mean a hell of a lot to me. It sparked more childhood interest in reading and trips to the library than any other program ever produced. And I don't doubt that the show had a part in me eventually discovering that what I wanted to do with my life was to write stories.

In one respect, it's more unfortunate for my own children, because they will be raised never having known the show. But I'd like to think that my own interest in reading, and ensuring that my kids have a healthy and active imagination will carry them through-- certainly due in some small part to my own exposure to the show as a child.

When I heard that the show was cancelled, I immediately looked up the introduction on YouTube and, upon hearing just the first few synthesized flute notes, nearly got choked up. I'm not exaggerating.

So, I present to you the intro to the show in it's entirety.

Godspeed to the kids of this generation who will only be exposed to the inane, ADHD inducing tripe that passes as children's entertainment these days.

Friday, July 24, 2009

R.I.P. Gidget, The Taco Bell Dog

Gidget, the chihuahua responsible for the sale of millions of colon-cleansing Taco Bell tacos, has passed away. Though in recent years the ad campaign that made her famous had all but disappeared, the pup's ubiquitous catch-phrase "Yo Quiero Taco Bell" remains a part of the everyday pop culture lexicon.

Yo Quiero Gidget. Yo Quiero, indeed.

Rest in Peace.




Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Cool Commercial: Acura's "Bodies in Motion" campaign

I've caught this commercial a few times over the past week or so. It's a rather beautiful and effective ad campaign for Acura's new line of vehicles. 

Every time I see it, I find myself rewinding so I can watch it again. That got me thinking-- if only more commercials looked this good, perhaps I wouldn't DVR the few shows that I watch, so I can skip past the commercials.



Monday, March 16, 2009

Song of the Week: "Somebody Loved" by The Weepies

This week's pick is a sweet little song that I came across while looking for new music by daisy chaining from band to band on iTunes via the "Listeners Also Bought" button. I've found a few gems this way, but it usually leads to me randomly sampling songs until about 3am. This time it paid off.

The Weepies are a pop, indie pair with a couple of albums behind them. I've only managed to get my hands on "Happiness" as of yet, but based on what I've heard, I look forward to checking out their other albums.

Singer Deb Talan has a unique and beautuful voice that, once heard, becomes instantly recognizable. In that way, she reminds me of an Amanda Palmer, or maybe even a young Allison Krauss.

In searching for a video for this particular song, I came across a few options on YouTube, none of which were superb. First off, it seems the band did a guest stint on ABC's "Dirty, Sexy, Money"-- the show with quite possibly the worst title of all time. And second, some poor jackass out there made a fan video of Jim and Pam from "The Office' to this song, which made me want to punch myself in the face.

So, I've decided to post the song here in a simple MP3 form, to save you the trouble of seeing those truly awful videos. I hope you enjoy this song as much as I do. If you have a romantic bone in your body, you'll like it. But beware, the lyrics are very easy to learn, and highly likely to get stuck in your head. 

I'm just saying... you've been warned.




Somebody Loved - The Weepies

Sunday, March 8, 2009

The problem(s) with "The Office"

"The Office" is one of two shows that I make sure to see every single week. The other one is "Lost." And while narrative wormholes and unanswered questions are an integral part of the latter, I don't think it was an intended part of "The Office." Yet there are many questions that need be answered:

1.) If the whole show is based upon the idea of a film crew following the daily life of an American office, that's fine. But this device seems to have faded away, and the cameras have now become an omnipresent, sometimes invisible witness to the daily dramas in the office. Unless, that is, the camera can be used for comedic value. Which is it? Is there a documentary crew, or no? And this brings me to my next point...

2.) Are we supposed to feel like personal friends of Jim and Pam? Because the show has begun to lean heavily on awkward glances, and deadpan stares from both of them. It's like some sort of "Lady in the Lake", first person complicity that is lacking in the other 90% of the show. Jim and Pam are never the butt of the joke and, on this show, that makes them boring. And speaking of...

3.) Jim and Pam. Honestly-- how arrogant and annoying can two characters be? Once they got together as a couple, that storyline was finished. Their only function thee days is to look at the cameras (and us, the viewers) with a look of, "Can you believe this...?" And it's old. Really old.

4.) Michael Scott is way, way, WAY too over the top.

Sometimes.

Which is what I find so annoying. Ricky Gervais' "David Brent" was a jerk, and a heel,  but deep down he had a sympathetic core. Michael Scott seems to just be a human manifestation of Homer Simpson, at some points going so far off the stupidity charts that it ruins an entire episode (such as when he drove into a lake because the GPS told him to turn.) Are we to believe that he is so unbelievably stupid, that simple functions of basic intelligence are too much for him? But then, there are moments of clarity for the character, where you do see a glimmer of humanity, and you think, "Hmm...?"But those scenes are so few and far between, I've become convinced that they happen accidentally.

4.) The Angela/Dwight affair ruined those two characters. First off, Angela-- of course she was an  annoying, teetotaling bitch, but the affair made her something worse in my eyes-- a cheater. And the man she cuckolded, Andy, is one of the only genuinely likable characters on the show. When do Angela and Dwight get their comeuppance? Where is the payoff to the affair? And Dwight-- Well, that's another thing...

5.) Dwight, Dwight, Dwight... you know, it was sort of unfair, because I came into the series immediately convinced that Rainn Wilson would merely attempt to do the impossible-- to top Mackenzie Crook's "Gareth" from the BBC "Office".  And, to his credit, he has done enough to differentiate the character, and has come up with some genuinely funny moments. However, he too often falls back on the hacky, over-used Dwight bits-- you know, over-emphasizing words for comedic effect, being awed by ninjas and karate and all that Will Ferrell-ish, Man-Boy stuff that has been old for a few years now. It's old, too easy and smacks of laziness.

6.) Problems with other "Office" denizens:

a.) Kevin-- someone told him that talking slowly, and over-emphasizing words in comic gold. Someone was wrong.

b.) Meredith-- The whole drunken whore thing strikes me as less funny, and more sad and annoying.

c.) Stanley-- the man has never made me laugh. He's just a grumpy old prick.

d.) Ryan-- His character has gone through a complete transformation from when he first started. They should have let him go when the whole arrest thing happened. His story-line is dead.

So, after all of that, I still want to say I like the show. I mean, it's possible to like a show and still be cognizant of it's problems. When the show is on-- it can be really good! But it seems that Ricky Gervais may have been on to something by only having 2 seasons (plus the Special) of the original series. Did it leave me wishing for a third season? Yes. But I think he knew that there was only so much you could do with the concept. A lesson that the American version may end up learning the hard way. If, by the hard way, I mean by making millions upon millions of dollars, I suppose.

Nothing like running a good show into the ground. What do you think?



Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Jon's 2009 Oscar Picks


Best Picture
"The Wrestler." What's that? It wasn't nominated? Oh... uh, then it should go to "The Dark Knight". What? That wasn't nominated either? Well... I dunno. Then, I guess just give it to whoever you want. Okay, so I guess "Slumdog Millionaire" it is, then.

Best Actor
Mickey Rourke. Hands down. Yeah, he's been in some shit movies, and he looks kinda weird, and those chihuahuas... what is with those chihuahuas? But, when it comes down to the performance, his Randy "The Ram" Robinson was utterly transcendent.

Best Actress
So, the easy choice here would be to say Kate Winslet. But I have a feeling that Anne Hathaway is going to pull this one out. She is on someone's short list to be an upcoming A-list actress, and this will be just what she needs to have that solidified. But the Academy does love Winslet...

Best Supporting Actor
Heath Ledger. Yawn. It's not that I didn't like his performance-- I loved it! But it's just been so long, and there has been so much hyperbole about his performance that I'm just looking forward to giving him the award and being done with it.

Best Supporting Actress
I'm going out on a limb, and saying Amy Adams, from "Doubt." She is an A-Lister in the making.

Best Original Screenplay
I would like for "In Bruges" to win, but I think "Milk" will have this one locked up because it will be the only chance for the Academy to give the film a chance at Oscar gold. And, ahem, what about "The Wrestler"?

Best Adapted Screenplay
"Slumdog Millionaire". This one is deserved. Good script. But, I still think "The Dark Knight" should have been nominated here...

Best Cinematography
I think people will assume that this will go to "Benjamin Button", but that will be due in large part to many people ascribing the look of the film to the cinematography, when really the film's look is dominated by visual effects and digital filters. So, having said that, I think this one will go to Wally Pfister for "The Dark Knight." It's the only chance for the film to win an Oscar, and they damn well better give it to him.

Best Director
Danny Boyle, "Slumdog Millionaire" I really like Danny Boyle a lot. I have no problem with him winning. However, I have a huge problem with the fact that neither Christopher Nolan nor Darren Aronofsky were even nominated. How in the hell did that happen?

Best Animated Feature
Wall-E. Yeah. Another year, another Pixar Oscar. And sure, it was really great and all... it's just I miss 2d animation. I really do.


The Oscars are on this Sunday, February 22nd. I suppose I'll post again after the show, discussing how well my picks went over. If you want to watch a good live blog during the show, head over to Film Junk. I'll be in their uStream room for the whole show. 

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Song of the Week: "Heroes" by David Bowie

This week's song is definitely in my personal top 5 of all time.  There's not much to say, other than Bowie is-- without dispute-- the man. "Heroes" is just one of his many incredible songs. Basically, if you aren't into Bowie, I couldn't imagine why. If you're a fan of music, you should be a fan of Bowie, end of story. A good place to start is The Best of Bowie. Trust me, you delve deeper after listening to that one. 

And just for good measure, check out his appearance on "Extras" posted below. It's my favorite part of one of my favorite shows. Brilliant.